Forum Suggestions & User Assistance - Content from www.ravingbikefiend.com, a site known to distribute malware on BikeForum

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




The Human Car
07-03-11, 12:45 PM
When trying to open: http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php/331199-Post-your-utility-bike-thread?p=12871701#post12871701

Chrome gives me this message:

Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.bikeforums.net contains content from www.ravingbikefiend.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
We have already notified www.ravingbikefiend.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.ravingbikefiend.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.

If you understand that visiting this site may harm your computer, proceed anyway.

Help improve detection of malware by sending additional data to Google about sites on which you see this warning. This data will be handled in accordance with the Safe Browsing privacy policies.


sillygolem
07-03-11, 05:03 PM
I'm getting this message a few places, too. It seems to only be on the second page or later in a thread.

BlankTim
07-08-11, 09:12 AM
I get this constantly. It seems to be most prevalent in the Hybrid forum, but I've seen it in the Commuter forum as well. It's pretty much a thread killer in extended threads. I can read one page, but not the next, then I can read another, but not the next 2 or 3 pages, etc.
My guess is it's something in someone's .sig line, but since I can't see it, I can't tell for sure.


The Human Car
07-09-11, 07:44 AM
It's really comforting that the mods are no where to be found on this topic, not.

CbadRider
07-11-11, 05:01 PM
It's really comforting that the mods are no where to be found on this topic, not.

There have been a couple of threads on this subject already:
http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php/743939-Testing
http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php/744370-Malware-warning-probably-stemming-from-an-ad

The site is owned by a BF member; his site was hacked and he's working on cleaning it up.

The Human Car
07-12-11, 06:25 AM
Thanks for the update.

Rollfast
07-13-11, 04:43 AM
When trying to open: http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php/331199-Post-your-utility-bike-thread?p=12871701#post12871701

Chrome gives me this message:

Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.bikeforums.net contains content from www.ravingbikefiend.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
We have already notified www.ravingbikefiend.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.ravingbikefiend.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.

If you understand that visiting this site may harm your computer, proceed anyway.

Help improve detection of malware by sending additional data to Google about sites on which you see this warning. This data will be handled in accordance with the Safe Browsing privacy policies.

Google would call it's grandma malware and not tell the grandchilden anything helpful.