Classic and Vintage Bicycles: What's it Worth? Appraisals and Inquiries - Looking into buying this road bike

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
fjoker09
08-04-11, 02:10 PM
This is a new $5,000 +/- road bike selling for about $350.
Has anyone purchased a bike from this website? It is a BMC Pro Machine Road Bicycle Full Campy Record 11. Maybe it's a scam.
http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm/480863381-BMC-Pro-Machine-Road-Bicycle-Full-Campy-Record-11-wholesalers.html
KonAaron Snake
08-04-11, 02:15 PM
You know what they say about too good to be true...
There is no way to manufacture that bike for $300...Campy doesn't have that for its parts wholesale. It doesn't make sense and I think it's safe to assume it's a scam.
fjoker09
08-04-11, 02:29 PM
I thought so after giving them my credit card number, then cancelled the transaction with my bank. Too good to be true!!
They also have other top of the lines road bikes for about the same price.
well it's not exactly classic & vintage .
They do show a Pinarello Prince full campy for $405.
now that's a steal (of your money).
if a site advertises with Western Union as a payment method, I'm
staying away from it.
It is definitely a scam
https://www.thepaypalblog.com/2011/06/update-on-aliexpress/
septacycles
08-04-11, 03:25 PM
I looked at aliexpress a while back as a source for wholesale bike products but it was supper scketchy and I have heard nothing but headaches from people who have bought stuff through them.
Standard Issue
08-04-11, 07:48 PM
You're better off taking your $350 to a casino in hopes to win enough to buy a BMC.
That way you actually have a chance of ending up with the bike.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.