Hybrid Bicycles - Has anyone bought a bike from the: "cheap-giant-bike.com" website?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




johnadarin
11-19-11, 03:50 PM
I am interested in the Giant Rapid 1 or Seek 0 and this site seems to have all Giant bikes discounted by at least 30%, even the 2012s?
I can't find anything online regarding someone's experience with buying a bike from this site. Is the site a scam or has anyone had a positive experience with purchasing a bike from them?
thanks, John


jsdavis
11-19-11, 11:18 PM
That web site looks sketchy. Bike manufacturers generally do not allow their dealers to sell online. At best you get a bike without warranty. At worst, you get get scammed or counterfeit bike. Somewhere in the middle you get factory rejects.

Does this sound legit to you?


Are these products authentic?

All of our products are from factory directly, authentic quality and original packages. Our products are highly praised by our customers worldwide and largely seize in market of Europe and America, like UK, USA .etc. So you are welcome to our website and pick up your favorites, enjoying your easy and bargain shopping here.

johnadarin
11-21-11, 01:21 PM
I see what you are saying. Also, there is no 800# to call if you have an issue or problem. You have to email them. I'm just surprised that it is so easy to order just about any late model Giant bike ( I registered and got all the way through to the final credit card info and "confirm" spots) from this site and there are no comments on Google about them, pro or con!
Thanks for your words of wisdom. I sometimes get blindsided when I see huge discounts on cool bikes.


liam1
11-21-11, 06:15 PM
Also thought about going this route but the official Giant website states they ONLY sell bikes through official dealers. Also language used by "Cheap Giant Bikes" is'nt the best so this also increased my suspicion. There are good discounts to be had on 2011 bikes in reputable shops at the moment and if anything goes wrong you have somewhere to go back to.

ka0use
11-21-11, 06:45 PM
oh, boy.

i ran into these folks before- only it was their 'sisters'.

heyyyyy, beeeeeeeg boyyyyyyyy, you numbah one g.i. i love you looooong time, yes?
you have much cashy-cash? we go have party!:D

that was a long time ago and i ran into their daughters working frontier street in las vegas. a couple bore a strong resemblance.... dude. hope none were MY daughters:D

mercy.

you generally got more than one bargains for- one turned out to be a lady boy:eek:, and they alllllllllllllllllllllllll had unsocial diseases.:cry:

oh. back to the bike biz; i'd pass. it doesn't cost you anything to keep your money in your pocket....and your hand IN your pocket:rolleyes:

teicher
11-21-11, 07:05 PM
I am interested in the Giant Rapid 1 or Seek 0 and this site seems to have all Giant bikes discounted by at least 30%, even the 2012s?
I can't find anything online regarding someone's experience with buying a bike from this site. Is the site a scam or has anyone had a positive experience with purchasing a bike from them?
thanks, John

Giant only sells through local retailers. Run very far away from that site.

4.11
11-24-11, 10:04 PM
No HTTPS security during check out is a red flag.

Asking for your age?? what for, do they need to make sure you are old enough to ride a bike? My guess is shortly after you get a great deal on a Giant bike you'll get a Giant hassle in the form of a stolen identity.

johnadarin
11-25-11, 07:08 AM
228211228210Okay, great advice, guys. thanks. So I decided to buy a bike I saw on Craigslist. It's a black beauty! A 2011 Giant Seek 1. Here it is:228209

itsmcgee
11-27-11, 09:47 AM
John an authorized Giant dealer according to the franchise agreement is not allowed to sell on line.

teicher
11-27-11, 11:12 AM
Awesome, great find! You're gonna enjoy that bike, I test rode one at the shop and would easy buy one w/o hesitation.