Foo - Ansaar Bike Limited purchasing experiences

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




sgtx
12-18-11, 07:41 AM
Wasn't sure exactly where to put this, so here it is. I found a site online that has some really good prices, but since it is overseas I wanted to see if anyone has used it before.

http://ansaarbikeonline.com

They emailed me responses to my questions pretty quickly, but the shipping of 60 dollars to the US and the pricing of the bikes has me skeptical. I may end up seeing if the LBS does price matching, but in case they don't what do you know about Ansaar?

Thanks


no1mad
12-18-11, 08:25 AM
The fact that they claim to handle Novara, which is the exclusive house brand of REI, should raise the hackles on your neck. Another is that Trek forbids online sales of their bikes to protect their dealer network.

no1mad
12-18-11, 08:40 AM
And here's the results from the Site Inspector widget that is built in the Comodo Dragon browser- http://siteinspector.comodo.com/public/reports/15835.


skiahh
12-18-11, 09:01 AM
Hmmm, join date of Dec 2011... could it be.... SPAM??

Siu Blue Wind
12-19-11, 09:10 AM
Hmmm, join date of Dec 2011... could it be.... SPAM??

No, not spam. A genuine question.

jsharr
12-19-11, 09:17 AM
If the question is real, the answer is run for the hills, that is a scam company. Trek does not sell online or mail order. I am not sure any of the other brands listed do either.

If you want to order a bike online, go to BikesDirect.

If you want the value of having the ability to ride the bike, have it fitted, and have a brick and mortar shop for any after sales service, go to your LBS. If you are not familiar with bike shops in your area, try the regional forums here to get reccomendations of good shops.

unterhausen
12-19-11, 09:42 AM
That clearly is a scam site.

I probably would go to REI or Performance before BD, but to each their own. But I'm simply not tempted to buy online because I think that a local bike shop is always the best bet unless you are going with a custom builder.

overthehillmedi
12-19-11, 11:06 AM
If it sounds to good to be real......

Trakhak
12-19-11, 11:09 AM
Don't ask your LBS to match scam site pricing.

jsharr
12-19-11, 12:54 PM
Don't ask your LBS to match scam site pricing.

This made me laugh!!!!!

ahsposo
12-19-11, 02:37 PM
Here's the Google Maps Street view (http://maps.google.com/maps?q=41+MORRIS+AVENUE+LONDON+E12+6ER+UNITED+KINGDOM&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hq=&hnear=0x47d8a6503045e1f3:0x2931dd582011bff5,41+Morris+Ave,+London+E12+6ER,+UK&gl=us&ei=vq3vTqnyIJKftwetos3bCg&sa=X&oi=geocode_result&ct=image&resnum=1&ved=0CC8Q8gEwAA) and it doesn't look like an LBS of any stripe to me.

http://cbk0.google.com/cbk?output=thumbnail&cb_client=maps_sv&thumb=2&thumbfov=74&ll=51.547301,0.056416&cbll=51.547211,0.056294&thumbpegman=1&w=300&h=118

himespau
12-19-11, 02:40 PM
At least the one that popped up last year was using the address of an actual scooter store in England. Still, if the deal looks too good to be true, it almost always is.