General Cycling Discussion - Bikeisland.com?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Bikeisland.com?


ChowChow
01-16-12, 03:48 PM
Anyone ever heard or order from this place? They seem to have similar bikes like bikesdirect.com, but the prices are way lower.


ChowChow
01-16-12, 03:54 PM
Read that their bikes has cosmetic issues. Due to shipment.

fishymamba
01-16-12, 04:03 PM
Have not gotten a bike from them, but I did order some other stuff, really fast shipping and pretty good prices.


Stealthammer
01-16-12, 04:47 PM
Have not gotten a bike from them, but I did order some other stuff, really fast shipping and pretty good prices.

Same experience here. I've also recommended them to several friends who also got great service.

StephenH
01-16-12, 06:32 PM
BikeIsland, BikesDirect, and Cycle Spectrum are either the same company or closely related companies.

The BikeIsland store location in Houston is also shown as a store location for Cycle Spectrum. Google Streetview shows signs that just say "Bike Store".
I recall two or three years ago when I checked, the fax number for Bikes Direct was the same fax number as the Cycle Spectrum store in Plano (which is no longer shown on the Cycle Spectrum site.) And seems like the address for one of them was the warehouse built into the back side of the Plano Cycle Spectrum store. I was in there one time, nothing especially bad or good jumped out at me. Just one guy was working there, so didn't seem to be a place for service.

There is a link on the BikesDirect site to the BikeIsland site, recommending them for accessories.

Oh, pull up the Houston Cycle Spectrum store on Google maps and then read the reviews- hilarious!
http://local.google.com/local?f=d&hl=en&om=1&q=2901%20S.%20Shepherd%20Houston%20TX%2077098%20US

itsmoot
01-16-12, 09:22 PM
I bought a frame and later, a complete bike from them. The bike had an issue and when I emailed about it, they took care of it at their expense, pronto. Good deals and great service from bikeisland.

a1penguin
01-16-12, 09:39 PM
BD has finally gotten a bit of respect here on the forums. I would try the search feature and find some BD bikes that people have purchased and have decent reputations. I think people agree that BD is acceptable because they use brand name parts on no-name brand frames.

RonH
01-17-12, 02:24 PM
bikeisland.com is one of Bike Forums advertisers so I hope they're ok.

no1mad
01-17-12, 03:41 PM
AFAIK, bikeisland is the parts/accessories front for bikesdirect. How else would you explain BD models showing up on their site? It's like their own in-house Nashbar or something.