Foo - Attention ebay sellers! READ THIS

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Attention ebay sellers! READ THIS


phantomcow2
01-10-05, 02:48 PM
I know this is not mountain bike related but nobody seems to read the "foo" and i think this is important. I today got an email saying the following:
eBay request: Confirm your eBay account.

Dear eBay customer,

Due to recent activity, including possible unauthorized listings placed on your account, we will require a second confirmation of your identity with us in order to allow us to investigate this matter further.Your account is not suspended, but if in 48 hours after you receive this message your account is not confirmed we reserve the right to suspend your eBay registration. If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account holder, please be aware that it is in violation of eBay policy to represent oneself as another eBay user. Such action may also be in violation of local, national, and/or international law. eBay is committed to assist law enforcement with any inquires related to attempts to misappropriate personal information with the intent to commit fraud or theft. Information will be provided at the request of law enforcement agencies to ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.



To confirm your identity with us click here:
http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?OneTimePayment&ssPageName=h:h:sin:US

After responding to the message, we ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be investigated. Emailing us before that time will result in delays. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause you and we would like to thank you for your cooperation as we review this matter.




Thank you for using eBay!
http://www.ebay.com/




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This eBay notice was sent to you based on your eBay account preferences. If you would like to review your notification preferences for other types of communications, click here. If you would like to receive this email in text only, click here.

As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.

Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.

eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.


with the title TKO Notice A36

I was skeptical becuase if you look at my listings they are perfectly legit. They asked for my credit card, bank number and other various personal information. Also the link was not a signin.ebay.com thing but it was an IP adressa response saying it was not sent by ebay and was reported to the proper authorities.
Just though ide let you know.


madbiker555
01-10-05, 03:00 PM
That sounds kinda suspicious to me...send an email to eBay and check with them. If it is fake they might have linked it to some other real eBay pages.

phantomcow2
01-10-05, 03:06 PM
I did already, they sent be an email within an hour saying it was reported and to ignore the email.


sarsparilla
01-10-05, 05:35 PM
We got one of those here a while ago as well. Glad to know that no one else got caught off guard. I'm sure that others will be happy you showed this. Thanks

iamlucky13
01-11-05, 07:31 PM
These come up from time to time, posing both as ebay, paypal, or whomever. It's a common scam technique. The best way to stay safe is to never give out personal information to a site you reached by clicking on an email link. If something needs to be done with your account or you want to sign up with a new site, go to the site by typing the URL that you know is appropriate into the address bar. If it's legit, any information from the email you need to know will be given to you when you sign in.

Dannihilator
01-11-05, 07:36 PM
Got one as well, it's definately a sham. I don't have an ebay account.

Killer B
01-11-05, 07:41 PM
Don't want to sound like a sm@rtass, but where have you guys been for the last two years? This is not only "old" news, but it doesn't even make the News anymore..... Of course its a scam, although anyone who's ignorant enuf to fall for it after the story made the CBS, ABC, CNN, Headline News, BBC, and everyother news channel know to man, well I guess I should just say, "Here's Your Sign...."

Duh....

RegularGuy
01-11-05, 07:47 PM
Scam-a-rama.

I don't really have anything to add to this thread. I just wanted to say "scam-a-rama."

phantomcow2
01-11-05, 07:51 PM
WEll i dont know hwat happened to whoever produced it. They did a crappy job ide say, they did not do a good job copying ebay's site navigation. THere is a gray area on the top corner of ebay (the real one) but not on this.

Portis
01-11-05, 07:56 PM
I've had several of those. Here is the deal. Unless you try and log onto "my ebay" and find your account has been deleted, ignore any and everything else. These guys are good. I had to stare at the first one i got for awhile to figure out it wasn't from ebay.

phantomcow2
01-11-05, 08:01 PM
Or just look at the url the link sends you to. and when they have a log in screen enter some weird thing like
username - Jackalope
Passowrd- blueberry
and if it lets you in you know

earlygrace
01-11-05, 09:00 PM
I have gotten these several times, just forward them to spoof@ebay.com, never give out any info, I always make up stuff when I have to fill out any online forms.

baxtefer
01-11-05, 10:12 PM
any real message from ebay will be addressed to your ebay username, not "Dear ebay user"

John00
01-11-05, 10:28 PM
eBay will NEVER ask you for any information !!!!!!!
Unless you go to the eBay site and ask for something that requires you to identify yourself.

DieselDan
01-12-05, 12:28 PM
This is a classis "phishing" scam, used to get personal information from you. Citibank, Bank of America, Ameritrade, and eBay scams have all been mailed to me.

skiahh
01-12-05, 08:18 PM
Bottom line here: No respectable business will send you an email requesting you provide them with credit card information or other personal identification. They're ALL scams.

Johnny_Monkey
01-12-05, 10:13 PM
I received one of these and went to the site as directed and logged on using F***you as my username and password.

It seemed to log me on and thanked me for reconfirming.