Forum Suggestions & User Assistance - bikeforums.net blacklisted by ix.dnsbl.manitu.net for spamming

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
GraysonPeddie
08-13-12, 09:04 AM
Hi. I'd like to get in touch with the administrator of BikeForums.net to notify them of the blacklist. The error message is:
Aug 13 04:31:36 server1 postfix/smtpd[4077]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from mx5.internetbrands.com[98.158.194.50]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [98.158.194.50] blocked using ix.dnsbl.manitu.net; Your e-mail service was detected by mail.ixlab.de (NiX Spam) as spamming at Mon, 13 Aug 2012 07:44:13 +0200. Your admin should visit http://www.dnsbl.manitu.net/lookup.php?value=98.158.194.50; from=<...[at]bikeforums.net> to=<...> proto=ESMTP helo=<mx5.internetbrands.com>
Right now, I have "reject_rbl_client ix.dnsbl.manitu.net" commented out in the "smtpd_recipient_restrictions" section. I'm using Postfix. Hopefully, e-mail from bikeforums.net should go through.
CbadRider
08-13-12, 09:08 AM
I have notified Tom Stormcrowe about this. Moving the thread to User Assistance.
GraysonPeddie
08-13-12, 09:14 AM
I could have looked at the User Assistance forum. Thanks.
Tom Stormcrowe
08-13-12, 09:15 AM
We don't send out spam, and only email people who register for the forums. You'll beed to whitelist the domain (at)bikeforums(dot)net, though.
GraysonPeddie
08-13-12, 09:25 AM
Ah, thanks. I'll need to figure out how I can whitelist bikeforums.net in Postfix.
This is what I have so far:
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = reject_unauth_pipelining,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
permit_mynetworks,
permit_sasl_authenticated,
check_sender_mx_access
cidr:/etc/postfix/reject_private_mx.cidr,
reject_unauth_destination,
check_policy_service unix:private/policy-spf
reject_non_fqdn_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_invalid_hostname,
reject_rbl_client multi.uribl.com,
reject_rbl_client dsn.rfc-ignorant.org,
reject_rbl_client dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net,
reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org,
reject_rbl_client sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org,
reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net,
reject_rbl_client dnsbl.sorbs.net,
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
# reject_rbl_client ix.dnsbl.manitu.net,
reject_rbl_client combined.rbl.msrbl.net,
reject_rbl_client rabl.nuclearelephant.com,
permit
mikeybikes
08-13-12, 10:24 AM
http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-whitelist-hosts-ip-addresses-in-postfix
I'm so glad I don't manage a postfix server anymore.
My curiosity is how bikeforums.net got blacklisted in the first place.
GraysonPeddie
08-13-12, 10:39 AM
Thanks. I'm unsure if I could add user1@domainA.com and user2@domainB.com to rbl_override, but time will tell if it works.
Maybe the same IP address have been used previously before BikeForums.net took over the IP address.
I've had a feeling that we are running out of IP addresses. Why haven't we gradually switched over to IPv6 yet? I don't think I've gotten an IPv6 from FairPoint Communications where my mom ordered the service from.
GraysonPeddie
08-20-12, 05:18 PM
At least I can receive e-mails coming from BikeForums.net, thanks to bypassing blacklist checks.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.