General Cycling Discussion - Scam? or Too Good to be True

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Scam? or Too Good to be True


amacdonald
03-22-05, 09:43 PM
An S Works 2005 Epic Disk for under $2,000?? I'm considering buying from an online seller bicycles-online.com, have a look and let me know what you think.
Has anyone ever used them, or bought from them? They use an escrow company continentalshippingagency.com, which also looks dodgy? Anyone heard of them?


operator
03-22-05, 09:44 PM
Scam. Move on, nothing to see here.

Ziemas
03-22-05, 10:47 PM
An S Works 2005 Epic Disk for under $2,000?? I'm considering buying from an online seller bicycles-online.com, have a look and let me know what you think.
Has anyone ever used them, or bought from them? They use an escrow company continentalshippingagency.com, which also looks dodgy? Anyone heard of them?
First off the prices are in Euro, which makes the bike $2,225. Second, they' re in Portugale. Third, it's REALLY fishy that there is no Portagese, or any other languages besides perfect English. Perfect English and no Portugese? A scam!

And the "About Us" blurb is lifted verbatim from ExactChoice.

Bike Scam site: http://bicycles-online.com/aboutus.php?action=3

ExactChoice site: http://www.exactchoice.com/Founders.aspx

IT'S A SCAM! The bastards!


supcom
03-23-05, 03:52 PM
Specialized does not authorize online sales. If someone claims to be selling new Specialized bikes on the internet, then there is something wrong. Stay far away.