Thread: Back Pain

Posterior Transport Richard Arthur's Avatar
    My Bikes
    1995 Colnago, 2004 Trek Project 1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am curious if anyone is experiencing the type of back pain that began to deal me misery toward the end of last year. I can ride for 20-30 miles at tempo pain free. At about that point I begin to feel the lower back getting tighter. Riding fast paced for long duration especially with head winds or big climbs it evolves to more of a cramp than a pain, causing me to stop with good legs/bad back . I am a certified personal trainer, phys. ed major and have made training progressive on a lift/ride every other day basis. I have a good endurance base coming from running to duathlons to riding. I also have done much expermenting with bike position and think I have the bike set. Any suggestions for cause or cure. THANKS!!

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Something is obviously causing a problem on the bike, and is it your bike set up? Should not be as it has not caused a problem up till now, but have you fitted or changed anything on the bike recently?

I have 3 bikes that I ride, one of which is a Tandem. I have my stoker position all set up for me and is comfortable, however, by just changing the saddle height I can ride on the front, with even more comfort than I am on the back. This is a bike build problem as the stoker compartment is smaller. My pilot however cannot ride on the back for more than 5 miles before he has crippling back pain, and is does stop the ride.