Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

I need to ride more...

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

I need to ride more...

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-05, 09:54 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, I have been riding my Lemond since early June, I have been riding my 15 miles daily and faithfully. I started riding with local club 2 weeks ago and we ride 20-30 miles on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Last Thursday, I rode 23 miles and averaged 21mph with a group of 9 riders. I stayed with them and I was proud and was even having thoughts I was like Lance. So today only 5 days later, I am riding 24 miles with 4 others, hmm they are riding just as fast but we take a more hilly route. We get about 4 miles from where we started and they are doing 23-24 and for some reason I run out of breath and had to let them go, I was able to pedal 19 and I kept them in site and they finished probably 1/3 mile ahead of me. I was dissapointed I had to slow down but I do not plan to quit and will be back there on Thursday. I am riding with riders that have been doing this for years and I feel like I am doing ok but I wish I could catch up to them quicker but I know it will take much longer.....Thanks for listening...
Old 09-13-05, 11:51 PM

Location: Alameda, CA, an island city on the edge of San Francisco Bay
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well I just started riding in July and I wish I could do anything even close to what you're doing after a short time, I'm incredibly impressed

besides, hills take a lot out of you, have you considered training on that hilly route to be more prepared for your Tue/Thurs rides?
Old 09-14-05, 02:05 AM
Time for a change.

Location: 6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England