Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Oh what a pain the.............!

I have been riding for about 2 months after my heart surgery to get the ticker back in shape. The heart seems fine but the bottom end is hurting. Someone suggested a good pair of bike shorts with a chamois.
    Any suggestions on what kind to buy to spare the naughty bits? Thanks
    J

My Bikes
    Trek 5200, Pedal Force Carbon Project
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You chose a great exercise, congrads. Road bike or mtn? I was under the assumption most chamois shorts were about equal. After you get some, I'd then make sure your saddle height/position/angle is right, then give it some time to get adjusted to the settings. I think your bike adjustments are the more important thing here.

My Bikes
    Merlin Fortius, Specialized Crossroads & Rockhopper, Serotta Fierte, Pedal Force RS2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BikeHeart
    I have been riding for about 2 months after my heart surgery to get the ticker back in shape. The heart seems fine but the bottom end is hurting. Someone suggested a good pair of bike shorts with a chamois. Any suggestions on what kind to buy to spare the naughty bits? Thanks
    J
    - cheapest way (aside from making your own) is to purchase liners, such as those from nashbar:

$19 padded Solstice brief

- that way you can wear your own shorts...

- if you're a big boy, you can always check out Mt. Borah's '+' [Plus] sizes - they also offer a liner:

Plus sizes at Mt. Borah

- as an aside, i remember making my own 'bike shorts' back in the 70s by sewing a large leather patch onto the crotch of a few pairs of favorite cutoffs... they worked fine (i was just careful to handwash and line dry when needed)

- hope this helps!

p.s. we *really* need an FAQ section/stickie for each Forum here on BF!