Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Alameda, CA, an island city on the edge of San Francisco Bay
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

goal: 50lbs/100mi

I decided to post this in the 50+ forum rather than the general forums, hopefully a crowd that might identify with this a bit more.

I started riding again about 6 weeks ago after at least 15 years of layoff

I'm 57, 5' 9", and weighing 205. A lot of weight accumulated over the years.

Back when I rode a lot, my weight hovered 165-170, and at my strongest I was 152.

I've been riding about 40-50 miles / week since I started again, but have yet to lose a pound. I've lost inches around the middle though.

So I set a goal that by August 2006, I lose 50 lbs and ride a century. I've been riding about 40-50 miles / week since I started again, but have yet to lose a pound. I've lost inches around the middle though.

Goals are great motivators, if they're realistic. So my question: is this realistic or nuts. What's been your experience?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see your goals as being right on target.

As for your weight, that translates to about a pound a week, well within what would be recommended.

If you ride for a year, I also see the century as well within reason.

As for you not losing weight yet, I think that shrinking waistline is a very big indicator that you're on the right track. You've been building muscle, which in the end will result in an easier path for you to lose poundage as well.

I think patience and keeping at it will be the keys to achieving success. Still, I'd also say that you've done great if, after the year, you, let's say, have lost 30 pounds and can only do 50 miles.

Also, I work best if I hold out a carrot for reaching a goal, whether it be a jersey or a new bike or a night out on the town. Just something to visualize as a reward down the line.

I need more cowbell. Digital Gee's Avatar
    My Bikes