My Bikes
    Decathlon 7.2 road bike , 1980's Puch 5 speed
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Speed for 50 +

Hi.
    I started riding last year and did 800 miles last summer, nothing the winter,,and restarted May this year.
    I'm interested in seeing what my times are like compared with other 50+ riders
    I've been on a couple of other general forums and the speeds there are awesome and frankly intimidating.
    So. I'm now doing around 90-100 miles a week basically mixing 10's and 25's . I'm doing 16mph for the 10's and 13-14 for the 25's. Should I keep going or take up Knitting ?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All I have to say is that if you have to take up knitting, then so do I.

The more I ride, the more I just think that most everyone just would enjoy the activity. Getting exercise out in the fresh air is a pretty righteous experience.

To illustrate: My eighteen year old daughter's boy friend has been begging to come out riding with me. But, he has no bike. Yesterday, I'm trying to fit him onto one of our other bikes and telling him that we can do an easy family ride Saturday. Understand, he runs track and everything. He told me that he'd like to push it some. He has helped me with bike mechanical work and seems to know what he's doing, so I asked him what he'd consider pushing it to be. He told me that he and a friend had once ridden to a nearby movie theater together and that that ride had "destroyed" my legs. How far was it? Three or so miles.

So, your doing 90-100 miles a week would dumbfound most non or casual riders out there. I'd say you're doing pretty great!!!

I need more cowbell. Digital Gee's Avatar
    My Bikes
    2012 Masi Evoluzione, 2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on a low-end xc mtb and those are about my speeds, as well. I do about the same amount of mileage as well. I'd say save the knitting needles for another time.