Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

I think I experienced "The Wall".

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 09-23-05, 08:56 PM

Bikes: Trek 7200

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I've been riding now for about four months (after a forty year lay off). I have brought my miles up gradually to the point that I go 20 to 25 miles at a time, I guess I average about 13 or 14 mph or so. Actually, my ride is an "out and back" with about a ten minute rest at the turn around point. Anyway, all has been going swimingly and, with the exception of sore legs and those damn hills, I am really enjoying riding. Something happened two days ago that caught me off guard though. I had gone out on my usual ride and made it to the turn around point and felt really strong and good. I stopped and rested a few minutes, had some water and then headed for the return trip. My return trip starts out with a serious hill of about 1/8 mile and I did that as I always do, standing on the pedals and grinding it out, what was differnt this time was that after this hill, I couldn't seem to recover. Up till now, whenever I do a hill, no matter how long or how hard it is, I can "recover" when I get to the top and get my wind and my heart rate down. This day, I couldn't seem to do that. It seemed that, no matter how much I slowed down, my heart was still pounding and I was really dragging. It was all I could do to make it back. In fact, I "didn't" make it back. I got back to within five miles of my house and I just knew I couldn't go any further. I stopped and called my wife and she came and picked me up.