Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   I reached the 500 mile mark. (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/148598-i-reached-500-mile-mark.html)

cruzMOKS 10-24-05 04:23 PM

I started out looking for a bike to ride with my daughter and maybe
our whole family. After I started riding I was encouraged to ride
for my personal exercise. Today I went over 500 miles. I took a
vacation day and went 17.5 miles. I rode up to a Missouri natural
area (Maple Woods) hiked the trail and rode back. Riding
energizes me both physically and mentally.

Now I am looking into comuting to work. I did Friday and I may
do it more often. I have lights and a reflector vest. If I commute
often I plan on getting a second set of lights.

This bike stuff is growing on me.

And I am only riding on a $50 bike. But I have $170 in gear
including slick tires that I bought and put on today.
Surfas Drifter dual Sport
http://www.serfas.com/tires/CTR-26.html

A road bike may come early next year, but I am really enjoying
what I have now.

slotibartfast 10-24-05 04:26 PM

Great job, cruz. Keep it up! Don't worry about how much your bike cost, just enjoy yourself.

BJ Ondo 10-24-05 04:41 PM

Cruz, congrats, ya it's a funny thing, I got my bike in May, then on Fathers Day, I bought myself a present of a bike computer, since then I've bicycle'd "1300 miles" and I only ride for FUN. Never set a goal of "miles per day", heart rate, candence level's, ect. just ride! :) Let's hope we got a lot more "Miles of Smiles" in future!!

KeithA 10-24-05 04:50 PM

Woohoo!!! A great milestone achieved. What separates you from many who buy bikes is that you actually use it to good advantage.

You just inspired me to overcome my vacillating about going out for a ride today.

rck 10-24-05 05:21 PM