Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

My Bikes
    Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Cervelo P2C/Duraace
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

It must be Digital Gee's influence.....

I've always been pretty handy with mechanical things and can usually fix anything. Okay, I'm an engineer and I even enjoy taking stuff apart to see how it works.

I had 9000 miles on my chain and cassette and my chain checker finally indicated that the chain had sufficient stretch to where it was time to replace it. It is a Shimano chain and it should be a very simple task-just a matter of pushing out a pin on the old chain, shortening the new chain to the proper length, threading it through the derailleur and inserting a pin to connect the links. Maybe a 10 min job, tops.

Well, I did all that and everything checked out fine. On my first ride with the new chain for some reason I got a twist in one of the links. So I replaced a section of 4 links to remove the twisted link. I used 4 links as that is what I had left over from shortening the new chain to begin with. After doing that I took off to ride on a gorgeous day but the chain would not cooperate. One of the links was now "sticking/not bending easily" making the bike bascially unrideable.

At this point I made the executive decision that the new chain was cursed and took my bike to the LBS. I told them it was a new chain but to take it off, grind it up and put a new chain on my bike.

Now I'm thinking this 50+ stuff is catching up with me or maybe it's just I'm gravitating to Gary's level.......

I guess the real test will come the next time I have to fix a flat!!

My Bikes
    Croll 531c/Campagnolo and Schwinn City Bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've had this happen. What worked (for me, at least) was to apply lateral presure on the newly connected link. Such as: