User Tag List

My Bikes
    Trek 730
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

You're all inspiring...

I'm a newbie here, although I've graduated to a junior member! But, nonetheless, I'm new. I've been reading and reading this forum and others, but just want to say all you 50+ people are very inspiring to me. I'm 51, completely out of shape, as I've stated in my first post and just back to bike riding after years of absence. Biking will be my exercise of choice, right now, 30 minutes a day, that's enough for me not having exercised for years and being overweight.

My long term goals are to ride for exercise, to take recreational rides in NYC (can you believe that?) and MAYBE, if I ever get in shape, to begin doing bike tours. Also, I can see in the short term future to take rides in suburban/rural areas in my area.

In any event, I'm doing it, started this week. I'm going out there, today, at 23 degrees, and riding. I only missed one day due to an appointment. And, partly why I have the will to go out is all you inspiring people. Sure, we may be 50+ but we're not dead yet, I know that. But, still, for me to find this forum, after the bubble I've been in, and open my eyes and see a group of people my age and older who are yakking away about bike riding, doing centuries, racking up thousands of miles, is, again that word, inspiring, and I suppose, a little contagious. So, thanks!

I'm still going SO crazy figuring out what kind of bike to get. Hybrid, commuter (I don't commute), road, suspension/no suspension, triple crank or not, heavier or lighter, WSD, walk thru or not, yadayada. Off to two bike stores today to look around. I think I'll take my Trek 730 with me so the LBS can see what I'm on currently. I do know one thing...I like quality, I work hard for quality, so I do want to be educated. And my research is driving me out of my mind. But, I digress.