Senior Curmudgeon
    My Bikes
    Electra Townie 1-speed with basket & fenders
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Winter sluggishness

I find that about this time every year, I get into a "don't want to do much" funk and slack off on my riding/running. I don't know if it's the bear in me trying to hibernate, if the loss of sunlight turns down my metabolism, or if I'm just plain lazy.

How do you all stay motivated when the days are not only overcast but also cool, and your body wants to be a couch potato?

My Bikes
    Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Cervelo P2C/Duraace
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not an expert but what I've read it encourages "taking a break" over the winter to allow the body to completely recover. For me, just try and get out and do some different things to try and keep my weight from ballooning.

I think it's okay to take a break and wait for the enthusiasm to return.......

I need more cowbell. Digital Gee's Avatar
    My Bikes
    2012 Masi Evoluzione, 2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm still too new to be unmotivated perhaps, but I think I know what you mean...

Right now, I'm about to squeeze ten miles in because it will be dark soon but the rain has abated. Yet the winds will be a force, no doubt. I'll do the ride because I know how I'll feel when I'm done. And because I can log it on BikeJournal.com. And because at the end of the day I know I'll have done at least one little thing that's good for me.

Tomorrow's a holiday in the U.S. and there's a million work-related things I should/could do. Maybe I'll seize that opportunity, or maybe I'll just take the bike over to Coronado and see if I can get in a half century.

My biggest problem is how early it gets dark. I'm NOT, NOT, NOT a morning person. I'm so not a morning person. Not only that, I don't like mornings.