Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

My Bikes
    Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Cervelo P2C/Duraace
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Promise you will not laugh.......

Actually it's completely okay. In fact, when I told my wife she laughed so hard tears came rolling down. I left out the picture below from the other thread and here is why.

I got a new digital camera for Christmas explicitly for bike rides to capture those precious cycling moments. Yesterday I thought was the perfect time to try out the new "auto-timer" feature. Being a male engineer, I had not read any of the instructions so I just followed what I thought were pretty intuitive steps to take a picture.

I got the camera all set up and set the timer and ran over to get it taken. I didn't know how long the timer was set for so I stood there posing and counted to 60- knowing that had to be plenty long enough. I went back over to check out the picture and the screen was black??? Unfortunately I had pressed the on/off switch instead of the timer.......

You have to understand that the camera was sitting on top of a rock wall and I was standing in front of the camera to aim it. I had to lean over the top of the camera to see what was in the viewfinder. I saw a fence post, so I thought that would be a nice backdrop and I'd just run over and stand beside the fence post-which I did.

The picture below without me in it is the 2nd attempt at using the auto-timer. I was standing beside a fence post while the picture was taken alright. Unfortunately it was a fence post to the LEFT of where the camera was aimed and completely out of view......

So, it only took 3 attempts to get it done.......but hey, I had just ridden 50 miles and climbed a big hill. I don't think this is a reflection of a 50+ thing but hopefully you can appreciate the moment. Laughter is good medicine so please have a BIG dose at my expense!!
    Attached Images Attached Images