Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

I actually started posting on the folder forum 1st cause I am interested in travelling with one. This is a variation on my intro on that forum.

As a 55+ adult (close enuf), I have been biking off and on for over 35 years in NYC. I even was a bicycle messenger in 1970 but that's another story. Since I was a child riding a chainless bike, I have gotten a lot of pleasure and a sense of freedom when I ride my bikes. I have never gone on extended travel tours but this will change soon.
    Since 9/11 and my desire to limit my support of oil producing countries (I still own a car), I have been bicycling over 5500 miles a year commuting, shopping, and exercising, long daily pleasure trips etc. on my 30 year old PX10 (original owner).
    Last year, my company sent me out to pasture (yeah!). With my new found freedom, I am planning to do a lot of frugal overseas travelling that would include extensive bicycle touring (1 to 4 months). I was looking at folders for the flexibility of getting on/off a plane or train with ease. If I settle in a town/city for a month or more, I want to use my bicycle for my local transportation.
    This week I rode folders for the 1st time . I did 5 minute test drives on a BF, a dahon, and a swift. They all felt very comfortable, given the limit of 5 minutes riding in the streets of NYC.

Unless, I die from breathing the air polution or getting hit by a crazy driver, I plan to ride bikes into my 90's . My biking and weighlifting, has help keep my weight and cholesterol down. My resting pulse hovers between 45 and 50.

I guess that's it for now.
    Last edited by stargazer48; 01-31-06 at 02:31 PM.

Touring senior
    My Bikes
    Cannondale touring bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)