Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Addicted to your computer?

As a newbie I realize this may have been discussed before. So, forgive me if it's old stuff. In reading a few other posts related to learning to pace oneself on a ride and if the ride is for pleasure, fitness, etc... I realized that I've been addicted to that little screen sitting on my handle bars. It's most pathetic on my part. I look to see how fast I'm going, what the average speed is, how far I've gone, max speed, and must do this 20 times in a 25 mile ride. I think I'm gonna put some tape on the screen for the next few weeks and see what happens to the quality of my rides. Anyone else up for the experiment?

I need more cowbell. Digital Gee's Avatar
    My Bikes
    2012 Masi Evoluzione, 2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not me! I love my computer, and find it motivating, informative, and fun. I may or may not be "addicted," but I say what's the point of having it, if you don't want to look at it? I actually wish I could program mine to read out the mileage out loud, like my desk top tells me the time in fifteen minute intervals. Or maybe a bell would go off every time I hit a new personal best in speed.

I love my computer!
    Visit my blog! The Leadership Almanac
    2012 Masi Evoluzione
    2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2

Proud member of the original Club Tombay

Send email to dnvrfox@aol.com for new group
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I enjoy my computer - it helps me set and gain my goals.

I.e., I had a goal today of a 30 mile ride - and I hit it perfectly.

I will set a goal of 35 miles on my next significant ride, and I will know when I am there.

I don't happen to give a hoot about my average speed, but I do enjoy knowing my top speed.