Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Had to share this

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Had to share this

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-06, 09:48 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Had to share this

The reason I've been cycling so much for the past several months is that I've been enjoying it so much. But the thing that got me back into cycling six months ago was fear. I had been leading a very stressful life with essentially no regular exercise for a decade, and it had taken its toll. The big concern was blood pressure, which was well into the hypertension region. I've checked my BP several times over the past couple of days, and I am now down fully thirty points from where I was six months ago. Resting pulse is down fifteen points, and I'm at the same weight now that I was at in college. It is so good to see tangible results!

I told my wife this morning that it's obvious that buying cycling equipment has direct health benefits. Every time I make a new bike purchase my blood pressure goes down. I've got the data to back it up.
Old 03-07-06, 11:36 AM
Time for a change.

Location: 6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England

Bikes: Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Raketmensch
I told my wife this morning that it's obvious that buying cycling equipment has direct health benefits. Every time I make a new bike purchase my blood pressure goes down. I've got the data to back it up.
Have to swop wives. Or get better Data.

Spike Milligan
Old 03-07-06, 11:36 AM

Bikes: 1984 Peugeot P8; 2006 Trek 5200

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts