Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

How many miles a week?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

How many miles a week?

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-06, 08:20 PM
In the right lane

Bikes: 1974 Huffy 3 speed

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
How many miles a week?

Since this is my first year of bike riding and since I'm in the 50+ league, I'm kind of curious about how many miles you ride in a week. I keep reading that "rest days" are a good thing, but lately the weather has been so nice, I've been out every day.

I usually ride 15 miles during the week, round trip to work. Then.. weekends, whatever I can fit in. I've never gone over 150 miles, but have had some days when I was biking and probably should have rested. Lately, every week is up around 150 miles and I'm aching to do more. [Perhaps "aching" isn't the best choice of words here...]

What's your story?
Old 05-07-06, 12:29 AM
I need more cowbell.

Bikes: 2015 Specialized Sirrus Elite

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I completely agree with Big Paulie.

The other day, I started feeling guilty because I didn't feel like riding. And if I didn't ride, I'd get behind on my mileage goals.

Then I remembered -- ride when it's fun. Don't ride when it's not fun. Goals are nice, but screw 'em if they can't take a joke.

A day or two later, I couldn't wait to get back on the bike. And yes, it was fun.

Proud member of the original Club Tombay
Old 05-07-06, 12:44 AM

Bikes: Cervelo Prodigy

Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked 87 Times in 67 Posts
Originally Posted by gerv