Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Anyone tried a Trek Pilot flat bar road bike?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-06, 07:01 AM

Bikes: More than I really should own.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 18 Posts

I have been considering buying a road bike for several months. I want something mid-range price, preferably 10 speed cassette triple chainring.

Yesterday I tried a medium framed Giant OCR C1. Much quicker and lighter than my tourer, but I felt all stretched out and really wasn't comfortable. Granted, it was just a 2 mile dealer loaner ride.

I was considering a Trek Pilot 1.2 flat bar or maybe even the 5.2, , possibly shorten the bars an inch or so to a comfortable width, then add curved bar ends and maybe an aero bar.

I have always heard the argument that flat bars give you only one position and it has never rung true to me. With curved bar ends pointed parallel to the ground I feel like I have at least three or maybe four positions that I can use, one of which allows me to stretch out my hands on top of the curves and still have good control, one which approximates riding on the hoods, one holding the sides of the bar, and one on the bars.

According to last weeks MRI I have apparently torn a rotator cuff (durn, I knew that shoulder had been hurting) and I don't anticipate riding on the drops.

Yesterday I turned over 1000 miles for this year and I'm really wanting a faster road bike than my 35# Scwhinn tourer with fenders and racks.

I'd like to know if anyone else has tried the flat bar road bikes and what you think of them.
Old 05-19-06, 07:22 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flat Bar Trek