Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Comfort - what is it, what is it not?

I have read threads about guys shopping for "comfort" bikes. There are ample discussions about saddle comfort/discomfort - and lots of advice about position, cadence, seat height, and crank length that mention avoidance of knee problems, etc - how one frame is going to be more comfortable or give a more comfortable ride than another.

I'm no maven and no Lance by a far shot. I am a musician, not an athlete. But I ride plenty - have experience on two vastly different bikes - one a steel framed Schwinn, the other an aluminum framed Cannondale.

I've tried padded saddles, non-padded ones - fairly "normal” road saddles, and just put on a long, sleek Fizik - very narrow - no padding that I notice. Did my first long ride with it, no discomfort whatsoever. My riding style used to be 100% in the saddle. Recently, I've fitted my bike with clipless pedals and find myself out of the saddle on long climbs - it certainly adds another dimension to my riding and is certainly less taxing for me on long steep climbs. But I didn't experience any saddle soreness either way.

I have done a couple of 75 mile days - I was plenty spent from riding. Came home, sat down to relax, and didn't wake up until the next morning. But there was no soreness - no pain.

I'm working my way through a book by Ed Pavelka - the "Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills"

There is a section in the book about medical concerns that covers topics like saddle sores, numbness, knees, and a "men's only" chapter about what pressure on that region can do to our "personality."

I don't have aero bars (my LBS guy is trying to talk me in to getting them - he's talked me into everything else, so one day I'll try them as well), so it doesn't really surprise me that I don't experience "urological" problems as a result of my riding.