Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   saddle that equals comfort (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/207729-saddle-equals-comfort.html)

davidaub83 07-01-06 10:06 PM

saddle that equals comfort

Need some advice- I just started riding and have a standard saddle on a trek 1000. I am in it for exercise and wish to change saddles to gain a comfortable ride-any suggestions? thanks!

Big Paulie 07-02-06 01:05 AM

Ask this question again in about 6 months...when we all stop laughing!

Seriously David, this is the 64 million dollar question that can't be answered by anybody but you and your Visa card. It takes a lot of miles and more than a few saddles to figure out what you need, and how to set it up so it works best for you. It's a long journey, but when you get settled on something you like, everything else is a cake-walk.

One thing you need to do to get some focus to your question is to describe your physical attributes (height, weight, waist size, etc). Then the folks in here can give you some direction. This is a good group, with lots to offer besides stale jokes...but a saddle is so personal, all anyone can do is give you suggestions.

So, what are your particulars?

Digital Gee 07-02-06 01:08 AM

First, find someone who's ass is exactly like yours. Then, ask them what saddle they are using. If they are happy with theirs, get one of those. But make SURE you have identical asses. :D

Big Paulie 07-02-06 01:11 AM

Originally Posted by Digital Gee
First, find someone who's ass is exactly like yours. Then, ask them what saddle they are using. If they are happy with theirs, get one of those. But make SURE you have identical asses. :D

David,

Don't say I didn't warn you about the humor in here...but, there is truth in what DG is saying. Finding cyclists with like body type is really a good M.O. in sorting this out.

FarHorizon 07-02-06 06:29 AM