Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

What should I carry with me?

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 07-05-06, 02:12 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm off on my French adventure in 9 days. A ride from London to Paris over 3 days to raise money for Medicins du Monde - a Disaster relief charity. I'm told that there are 12 of us in the group - I'm easily the oldest and the only 50+. Although I've been getting into shape for a whole year, I'm not feeling confident.

My longest rides to date have lasted a day or less, so I've got no experience of a 'tour'. Basically, the feeding/watering, sleeping, rescue/medical arrangements and general organisation are all taken care of. There's a mechanic coming along and I guess France has bike shops. However, we are expected to be mechanically self sufficient. On the organiser's instructions, I'll be carrying a spare (foldup) tyre and 2 inner tubes.

What else would a savvy cyclist take without becoming overburdened? I'll be using a light backpack and a small wedge saddlebag. The nightbag gets otherwise transported and will not not available during the day.
I'm riding a race bike with armoured type tyres - I've never had flat so far and I'm hoping not to.

So far I've got on my list a folding hex tool/screwdriver and a set of brake blocks. I've not got a pump, I normally top up before go out using a 'shop' pump. Should I buy a compact pump or take one of those CO2 inflator things?

Advice and encouragement will be gratefully received.

Regards

Al
Old 07-05-06, 02:36 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oh, and I've just read DG's 'negative thinking' thread. Boy, am I in need of PT.
Old 07-05-06, 03:31 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Al,