Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

My Bikes
    Aegis Aro Svelte, Surly LHT, Cannondal R3000 tandem, Santana Triplet.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Finished BA @ 51

Early in May I finished my Bachelorís Degree in History with a minor in PoliSci. Cool, and I'm proud of my accomplishment! But the last two semesters were very busy with a large demand on my time. This past winter I put on 25 pounds and my gut doubled in size!

I'm just now getting a late start on my riding season! My normal drive to get the season started has been non-existent! This puzzled me. I think I figured it out tho. With the weight gain over the year, and the size of my growing gut, I think I talked myself into a frame of mind that said it is too late to do anything about this poor state of affairs. That and I have planned to attend no organized rides this year (such as RAGBRAI or CNC etc.). Whooies me!

Once I struck upon and understood my seemingly hopeless mind set, I recognized that I can still get back the fitness I enjoyed as early as last October. Today I got my butt out there and rode 35 easy miles. I'm tired, my average HR is up, but I feel good! I'll be out again tomorrow for an even easier recovery ride. I am also monitoring my diet. No bier, chips, Ice Cream and other junk foods for awhile.

All in all, it looks like I'm on my way back! It is not too late to get my figure and fitness back!

Thanks for listening!
    Gus
    2012 TransAm Tour journal link: http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/Threeisacharm

Naked Carbon Weave Aegis Aro Svelte, Purpleen Cannondale RT3000 Tandem, Orange Santana Triplet, Surly Long Haul Trucker

So little pains do the vulgar take in the investigation of truth, accepting readily the first story that comes to hand." Thucydides, 4th Century B.C.E.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt...33f/weight.png

In Memory of One Cool Cat Blackberry's Avatar
    My Bikes