Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Glass in my puncture resistant tires

I purchased a pair of Schwalbe Stelvios for my Cannondale back in June of this year. I have experienced a couple of sidewall punctures, a couple of tube valve failures - but, this week, I had a piece of glass the size of the tip of a nail that penetrated the "tread" area of the tire. These are supposed to offer puncture protection owing to the Kevlar in the area of the tire that contacts the road. This piece of glass was what you might expect to see if a car windshield shattered - not a big, sharp, dagger sized slab, just a bit of glass a little larger than a grain of sand.

It obviously lodged in my tire and worked its way through. I thought that would not happen with these tires.

I am now an expert at patching tubes and have developed a nice collection. I am half tempted to go back to my Armadillos. I never experienced a puncture flat using them.

Caruso

Banned.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Puncture resistant not puncture proof.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why wouldn't you go back to your Armadillos?

My Bikes
    Rans Enduro Sport, Hase Kettweisel Tandem, Merin Bear Valley beater bike
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How lucky are you normally? I think that i know.

Most puncture resistant tires have a kevlar or similar cloth under the tread. If you are unlucky enough to get a piece of glass between the threads, too bad. Armadillos are made, or least they used to be made, with an additional layer of chopped up kevlar fibers that overlay the cloth. That makes them both more puncture resistant (good) and stiffer (bad).

For the record, I have punctured an Armadillo but that was a piece of glass with the approximate dimensions of a small sword.

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes