Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

My First 41 Miler

I started riding seriously about 4 weeks ago. I have doing about 80 to 90 miles a week, doing 25 miles and last weekend a 34 miler. Yesterday I did a 41 miler with two 12% climbs and several other hills. I averaged 15.3 mph, being able to ride about 19 to 20 mph on the flats, with several climbs that lower the average speed. I am getting ready for a 57 miler on my 57th birthday, November 29. I have a 12% climb two miles into the ride and the same 12% coming up the back side at the end of the ride. Pretty excited about the progress I am making and loosing some weight in the process, 207 down to 196. I have a ways to go yet, but it is enjoyable and I am getting stronger. Anyone out there have an tips for training for this? I am riding solo as there don't seem to be any roadies in my area.
    "I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." --General George S. Patton

Best regards,

Duhhuh

I need more cowbell. Digital Gee's Avatar
    My Bikes
    2012 Masi Evoluzione, 2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Congratulations! Fine job...

As for your 57 miler, just keep riding. You're probably already fit enough to do it if you had to do it this weekend, so keep doing longish rides of 25, 30, 35 miles or so. I've never done a century, but I've heard over and over that you don't need to do 100 miles to train for 100 miles. Sounds to me like you're already a lot closer to being able to do 57 than you realize.

I did my first Ride Your Birthday early in my re-entry to cycling as well, and just took it slow and kept my focus on the goal. You have plenty of time to keep building up those legs. You can do it!
    Visit my blog! The Leadership Almanac
    2012 Masi Evoluzione
    2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2

Proud member of the original Club Tombay

My Bikes