Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Top Tube............

With all other things being equal, would a shorter top tube give me a more upright riding position?

I started riding on a 54cm frame and have moved the components to a 56cm frame and feel comfortable and have plenty of room under the shorts. More recently I rented a 56cm Trek Pilot and had even more room but thought the shorter top tube on a 54cm might put me more upright.

I ask because I am considering buying yet another frame, a Trek Pilot, for Christmas.

Any thoughts?

My Bikes
    Seven Ti Tandem, Blue T12 tri bike, 92 Paramount, 93 Schwinn Mesa MTB, Trek 520 tourer
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ceteris paribus....yes.
    Most economic fallacies derive from the tendency to assume that there is a fixed pie, that one party can gain only at the expense of another.....Milton Friedman

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Top Tube.......

This appears to be a forum with well read posters. Thanks.

Older I get, Better I was velonomad's Avatar
    My Bikes
    a bunch of them, most made by me, a couple made by others
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since the 56 cm frame seems to fit better, why not just put on a shorter stem to compensate for the longer top tube? You can also raise the handle bars to get more upright.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Remember, with an (especially slacker) angled head tube, as you go higher with your stem, your bars come in closer, too. Super short, or super extended stem extensions can sometimes affect a bike's handling. Better to let a shorter top tube do some of the shortening work. Also remember that the more upright you go, the more weight goes to your butt while at the same time your beefy butt muscles are less engaged in propelling the bike.