Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

My Bikes
    2005 Surly LHT; 2006 Surly CrossCheck with Extracycle; 1987 Schwinn World Sport as urban cruiser
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

finally, a cycling 'euro' bargain

So I've been prowling the LBS here in Bonn, Germany for a couple of months, checking all kinds of equipment, helmets, etc. The American-made goods are way more expensive than in the States - like an average of 20% more expensive, if not more.

BUT I discovered the bargain today: Brooks saddles... my Texas LBS sells them for $ 200 bucks or more. Here the B-17 is 79.99 euros ($ ~ 102.00). The All-Terrain with the springs is only 69.99 euros ($ ~ 89.00). I've got room in my suitcase to buy a B-17 & bring it home but have never ridden one.

With my new Surly LHT under construction at the Texas LBS, I'm thinking now might be the time to buy a B-17, bring it home & see how it rides on the Long Haul Trucker. Anybody have an opinion from their own Brooks experience?

BTW I'm 6'5", 225 lbs so qualify as a Clydesdale so if no one here has an opinion (hardly likely) I'll hit up the Clydes...

Tom
    centexwoody
    They're beautiful handsome machines that translate energy into joy.

My Bikes
    Mecian
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tom,

The Brooks prices are not that great. I paid right around 80 for a B-17, your Texas bike shop seems to be in the "Everything's big in Texas" mode with their prices. Check out Wallingford, Peter White, Harris, Rivendell. They all have prices reasonably close to each other, just depends on who you like to do business with. Peter White and Rivendell have both been very good to me.
    Recycle, Reclaim, Reuse and Repair
    The 4 Rs to save the planet

"Toes"

My Bikes
    Seven Ti Tandem, Blue T12 tri bike, 92 Paramount, 93 Schwinn Mesa MTB, Trek 520 tourer
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)