Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Alameda, CA, an island city on the edge of San Francisco Bay
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I stopped riding for a month

and I can't believe how much of my fitness I lost.

Because of work schedule and a bad cold I stopped riding for about 5 weeks. Before that I'd been in my best shape for years. But after a month, my butt hurts again, my speed and cadence is down, and I struggled on hill climbing.

The good news: my aerobic endurance did not decline (I was not out of breath when riding) and my overall strength and endurance is still far better than when I started riding about 15 months ago.

But still I was shocked at how much I lost in a month, and I'm not looking forward to a winter layoff and a spring re-training.

I need more cowbell. Digital Gee's Avatar
    My Bikes
    2012 Masi Evoluzione, 2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your screen name is so appropriate! I'm assuming you're back on the bike, right?
    Visit my blog! The Leadership Almanac
    2012 Masi Evoluzione
    2009 Specialized Globe Vienna 2

Proud member of the original Club Tombay

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Gee
    Your screen name is so appropriate! I'm assuming you're back on the bike, right?
    yep, backinthesaddle is back in the saddle again

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know what you mean. Tomorrow will be a week now that I haven't been able to ride, due to muscle pulls in my back and right rear leg. At least I hope it's muscle pull and not sciatica, which I've never had before. The bike sits on the trainer constanly reminding me that the clock it ticking.

My Bikes
    custom built, sannino, beachbike, giant trance x2
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah whenever I lose the "drive" I find it takes 2X the time off to get it most of the way back.