User Tag List

My Bikes
    A Bike Friday Pocket Crusoe and a Trek hybrid
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

All of a sudden my chain is skipping

I try to maintain the bike, and clean it and stuff, but when I went out to ride yesterday my chain was jumping and skipping all over the rear cluster when I shifted, I mean. It never did this before. I'm not very technical. New chain? Clean everything up (again)? Stretched cable? Check all of the above?

My Bikes
    Waterford 2200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check to make sure your rear wheel is centered between the chain stays.
    Make mine a double!

Dare to be weird!
    My Bikes
    Hybridized 1970s Coppi road bike; Townie city cruiser
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Hyw 40 Blue, the same thing happened to me today. My derailer cage (the thing with the two toothed wheels that guide the chain) was stuck too far in a backward position. It got that way because I'd just fixed a flat on the rear wheel and I had moved the derailer cage by hand. To fix the skipping, I moved the derailer cage by hand back into its most normal forward position.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check movement of shifter cable. I had new handlebars put on my Trek, and the putz that did the job didn't route the cable through the housing underneath the bottom bracket. Corrosion or foreign object may have the same effect. It's dangerous to ride if you don't get it fixed. Be careful!

My Bikes
    1959 Capo; 1980 Peugeot PKN-10; 1981 Bianchi; 1988 Schwinn KOM-10;
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What type of shift levers do you have? Is your rear derailleur securely mounted, or is it flopping about?
    "Early to bed, early to rise. Work like hell, and advertise." -- George Stahlman
    Capo [dschaw'-poe]: 1959 Modell Campagnolo, S/N 40324; 1960 Sieger, S/N 42624
    Peugeot: 1970 UO-8, S/N 0010468