User Tag List

My Bikes
    Not enough
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

HHmmmmmm - brainstorm.

Woke up this morning (always a pleasant surprise ay this age) and had this thought.

First , some Background. I'm having trounle with Achilles Heel, and stretching and strengthing it. I use trainer slowly and one of those rubber ropes given to me from a PT session. (hook my toes around it, and flex my foot back forth). Worse, I'm an Engineer by trade and am going into work today so experiments are on my mind.

As trainer gets boring, and though its nice compared to Colorado, I still can't get out-doors all I want.

So..
    If I attached one of 'those rubber ropes' used in PT - to my waist and then to something solid behind me acting as a spring - would that represent uphill or just wind?

If I remember correctly, we used something like this back in high school training for track.

HHmmmmmm. thoughts?

Of course skeptics would just say I'd fall flat on my A**.
    **Fate is a fickle thing, and in the end the true measure of a person is not fate itself, but how they master it**

My Bikes
    '04 Giant OCR2, '87 Schwinn World Sport F/G conversion, '85 Schwinn Super Le Tour, '92 Trek 820
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think it simulates any real-world condition in biking. After all, what hills (gravity) and wind do is resist your forward movement and increase your effort; same thing for running. But there's no forward movement on a trainer.

(Hmmmph...and you call yourself an engineer! )

Maybe, depending on where the band is attached, the resistance in maintaining the typical bent-over road bike stance would strengthen core muscles. Just a guess.

If you do land on your a**, try to get it on video for our amusement!
    '04 Giant OCR2|'87 Schwinn World Sport F/G conversion (6,129)|'92 Trek 820 MTB|'85 Schwinn Super LeTour