Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Any afib folks in here? (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/273147-any-afib-folks-here.html)

67walkon 02-27-07 08:28 PM

Any afib folks in here?

Hey. I'm 57 and was diagnosed with paroxysmal atrial fibriallation about 6 years ago. Fortunately, I haven't had any episodes for about a year and a half.

The med they gave me is rythmol. It is supposed to help regulate your HR. It has very mild beta blocking tendencies.

Here's an interesting thing-my HR has never gone above 150 since I have been riding seriously for about 8 months. This AM, I rode 25 miles at an average speed of about 18.5. For about 12 of those miles, I was between 20 and 24 mph; my HR average was 110. My max HR was 146.

Does anyone else have an unusually low HR? I don't get winded or anything and can go for hours at pretty good pace without any problem, but the HR just sits at a really low number. I have decided its okay, but wonder if anyone else is made like this.

John

Velo Dog 02-28-07 11:00 AM

Sounds about right... I'm 62, been in a. fib continuously for 18 years. I was a distance runner when it started, with a resting pulse of 38-40 and a max of...I forget. Been a long time since I was up there, but I think it was 160+. I ran by feel, and didn't check it very often at the end of a workout.
My drugs are different from yours (digoxin for the rhythm, plus a blood thinner to avoid clots), but the effect is the same: I can hold a pace, fast or slow depending on what kind of shape I'm in, for as long as I ever could. If I try to pick up the speed, though, I run out of gas in seconds. My heartrate will go up to 125 or so, and often I'm feeling good there, like I could go faster. If I add even half a mile an hour, I can't hold it for more than a minute or two. If I drop back to my previous speed, I recover very quickly and can keep on going.