Thread: Blood Pressure

My Bikes
    Specialized Allez
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Blood Pressure

I'm kinda new to cycling and I was wondering how or if cycling has effected your blood pressure (hopefully decreasing it). Mine is starting to rise and I want to get it back into the "normal" range through exerise and weight loss (easier said then done). thanks had a great day.
    Specialized Allez

My Bikes
    Giant Simple 7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the same situation. Have started walking more (3-3.5 miles per day with dogs). Have cut back salt, eating more veggies & fruits. Losing a few pounds is supposed to be one of the quickest ways to lower bp. Mine is coming down slowly. It's normal (120/72) at times but goes up to 150's over 80's at other times. It used to be 110/70 when I was younger & friskier. Good luck to you.

Send email to dnvrfox@aol.com for new group
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dlake
    I'm kinda new to cycling and I was wondering how or if cycling has effected your blood pressure (hopefully decreasing it). Mine is starting to rise and I want to get it back into the "normal" range through exerise and weight loss (easier said then done). thanks had a great day.
    YES- weight loss, diet, exercise.

BTW, right after intense aerobic exercise, your blood pressure will go down temporarily for a few hours.
    Almost gone from the 50+ forum. - Email me at dnvrfox@aol.com for another fun new group of 50+ folks

Happy Rider
    My Bikes
    Gold Rush, Moots compact, Bike Friday Pocket Crusoe
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dlake
    I'm fighting the same thing. Been cycling for 15 years. Got up to 205 lbs with the help of lots of beer and rich food. I'm now down to 185 and completely changed my eating. I try to ride 4-6 days a week from 1.5 to 4 hours.