Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

With all this talk of weight & condition...

... I can't help but wonder. I realize YMMV; it's an impossible question to answer and all but here it is anyway

I was pretty much inactive for 20 years... sat on the couch and played my guitars, mostly.
    Oh, my wife and I would do some hiking and walking on vacations but, let's face it, I was a slug.
    So, I started riding (how long ago? you been paying attention?) and I do about 130-150 miles per month.
    I do some short climbing -more now than a year ago- and, of course, I live on a 500-600 foot, 11% hill.
    I am definitely developing some musculature in the legs, the quads are coming along... the calves are... well, the calves are there. They were pretty lame before. So much -ok, ALL- of riding is about strength to weight ratios. The weight is slowly coming down, the strength is coming up. I guess oxygen intake plays its part, too; how much does asthma hold me back? Will that be my limiting factor? Is it now? Oh, along those lines, I'm going to see a cardio for a stress/echo in a couple of weeks. Maybe I'll finally find out what my HR limits are. I'm really looking forward to that.

OK, how much development should I expect to see and how fast? I see where I am now, where will I be in another year? Is it a fairly linear thing or more of a punctuated equilibium? At what point do I have the strength I "need". When do I start having legs like the Incredible Hulk? Yeah, yeah, as I said above (and as I've said before) I know this is highly variable and very, very fuzzy but it might be a good jumping off point for discussion.

So... discuss
    '13 Felt Z3 - '08 Jamis Aurora Elite - ('07 Giant OCR C2)

My Bikes
    1983 Trek 720; 1983 Trek 620; 1989 Gi Cannondale Bad Boy Ultra; LeMond Victoire; Bike Friday Pocket Rocket Pro
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)