Peddlin' Around Detroit Motorad's Avatar
    My Bikes
    Legend, Saluki, Trek 730
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

23 mm versus 25 mm tire widths

The only tires I'm used to riding on are for hybrid bikes ... 32mm tires and wider. So I have no knowledge about road tires.

I'm getting Shimano's 7801-SL wheels, which have a 24mm rim width. The only information I could find about recommended tire widths is found in the following (long) thread) ... "Shimano's 24mm rim width is designed to be optimal in wind tunnel tests with a 23mm tire (700 x 23)."
    < http://www.freshairexp.com/thunderba...play.asp?ID=38 >

Would 24mm-wide rims accommodate both 23mm and 25mm tire widths?

Which tire width would be better for club rides with a target speed between 14 and 17 MPH?

What are recommended tires that come in 23mm and 25mm widths that would be good for club rides?

My Bikes
    2014 Specialized Crave Pro 29, 2014 Specialized Crux EVO Carbon Disc, 2012 Black Mountain Cycles Monster Cross, 2011 Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert Compact, 2009 Salsa Casseroll, 2003 KHS Milano Tandem, 1986 Nishiki Cadence rigid MTB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your rims should be fine with anything from 20mm to 28mm.
    Any perceived difference between 23mm and 25mm tires would be imaginary.
    The more you ride your bike, the less your ass will hurt.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bike tire widths can vary somewhat from manufacturer to manufacturer despite having the same marked width. Variations can be noticable at times, especially as you get up into higher widths like 28,32, etc. Kevlar belts, inflated shape, the pressure you run them at can affect a sense of suppleness or firmness.

Equally "important" is getting a color combination you can live with!

In a double blind test, some people would claim they can feel a difference between 23 & 25, others probably not. Wheels can also influence the perception of "ride".