Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Who rides on coumadin?

A new type of doping? Yesterday I was diagnosed with DVT(Blood Clot in leg) , I am now typing from my hospital bed. Since my father and brother also have had clots a genetic predisposition is suspected. I am starting Coumadin (warfarin) today. I have already been advised to stop road riding because risk of injury. I would be somewhat inclined to ignore this except for the incident last year where I was hit by a car making a turn while driver was on cell phone. Obviously some risk does exist. However I love to ride and find riding trails boring and limited (usually less than 10 miles in my area. I am a nurse and know all about risks and frustration of warfarin but was wondering if any others have dealt with this issue and how. Also this throws a major monkey wrench in my wifes and my 25 wedding aniversary which was to be a week in California biking the wine country this fall. Mark

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi lmzimmer-
    I ride with coumadin... I had a DVT which spread to my lungs in 2000. I was off the bike for a couple of months, but I ride regularly. I was on coumadin for about 6 months, then was allowed to get off ot it. I then got another clot following a cross-country air flight. Again I was on coumadin but this time for about a year. I was off it for a while and got a third clot... I am now on coumadin 'for the duration'...