User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Serotta Fierte
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

will you lower the bar to welcome a 46 year old?

Hi, I'm Colleen and I love cycling. I'm 46 but I'd like to hang out there too, may I please? I'm happily married to a wonderful man who supports my endeavors, and I have 4 wonderful kids. I'm a mild mannered nurse by day, obsessed cyclist all other times.

I love to ride my bike. I got more serious about cycling last August when my oldest went off to college and I hit yet another mid-life milestone. Rather than sitting around feeling sorry about things, I got a new bike and started riding.

Then I joined a club with some fantastic people who love to ride. Most of them make my obsessive compulsion to ride seem mild by comparison.

Then I started buying all kinds of crazy cycling clothes. A gore jacket so I could ride all winter. Bike shoes. New pedals. A pack for my handlebars. A computer, then another computer. Funky, fun sox to match the jerseys. Hi-vis vest. A little bell w/a compass. Arm warmers, leg warmers. Wool base layers. Gloves. Great head coverings called a "buff". Crazy expensive shorts, knickers, tights. And after all this, I still feel like I've exercised enormous restraint.

Here is it early June, I've got 2,000 miles for the year.

I'm going on a bike tour in two weeks, GOBA.

When I get back, Lord willing, I am getting a fitting for a new, better bike. A serotta fierte, in steel, yellow.

I have been lurking here and you all seem so nice!

Colleen

seattle based cyclist merlinman's Avatar
    My Bikes
    Merlin Extralight, Gios Steel, Schwinn Voyageur fixie
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the Forum should be renamed the nice people's Forum and all who are nice are welcome. Maybe being over 50 does this to you (well some of us anyway).
    Andiamo!!

My Bikes