Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   How long a rest period on a 50K ride? (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/314706-how-long-rest-period-50k-ride.html)

roccobike 06-27-07 09:28 PM

How long a rest period on a 50K ride?

I've signed up for my first road event. It's a 50K ride on the morning of July 4th. I know 50K (31 miles) is no big deal to most, but this is my first event and I want to be sure I bite off what I can chew. This will NOT be a nice flat 50K ride, no way. I'm not good at estimating elevation, but whoever planned this wants to see who's in condition and who just signed up for fun. After completing 24 miles, the ride takes on a local well known hill, I've done it (with the help of granny gears), but its hard. Two miles later the route includes 5 hills in rapid succession, with only one small, downhill in-between the 5 hills. No problem for JPPE, but I'm not JPPE (got a little way to go yet:D )
Ok, that's the ride. My question is, when I hit the break in the ride at about 15 miles, before all the long hills, about how long should I rest? Short, 1 or 2 minutes? That's what we do on our 24 mile training rides. Or longer, like 10 minutes? One group ride I attended took the long break. I didn't like it because my muscles tightened and it took about 3 or 4 miles to loosen up, however, I was very fresh and the second half of that ride was easy once I loosened up.
This ride will start at 8:00 am on July 4th, in an area just south of Raleigh, NC. I anticipate it will be hot and humid. I will be one of the last ones to roll off, well after 8:00 and I estimate I will hit the rest area around 9:30, depending on how I pace myself, and it will be hotter.
Any advice on how long a break is recommended is appreciated. BTW, I plan on taking on some sports drink and either banana or powerbar during the break.

Mojo Slim 06-27-07 09:32 PM