Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Beginner shoe question

I've been commuting with running shoes and platform pedals for the last 2 years, about 2000 mi / year. I would like to try clipless. However, I suspect with all the intersections and other reasons to stop on my commute, both expected and unexpected, clipless may not work out.

My question is - will the clipless shoes work on platforms if I remove the cleat? I like the idea of a less cushioned sole. Even if I return to platforms I would like to still use the bike shoe.

My Bikes
    Trek 1200c, BMC Streetfire, Gary Fisher Wahoo
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Absolutely. My recommendation would be a MTB shoe and one of the Crank Bros pedals (Candys or Quattros). They are very easy to use and if you decide they are not for you a MTB shoe would allow a better grip on the platforms and also easier walking.
    Tim
    Singing Do Wah Ditty, Ditty Dum Ditty Do

Biker looking for a ride!
    My Bikes
    Kuota Kreedo...looking for something different.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use eggbeter pedals and if I had to put my foot down 100 times in a ride I would rather have a clipless pedal then a reg pedal....

After the first 50 times it is a reaction, I just put my foot down....I dont even think about it....I will say that my girlfriend clips out 200 feet before a stop sign....I tell her not to but she has to I guess....so there are some people that will just refuse to get used to them....if you now put your foot in the clip without thinking about it I bet in a week you will be doing the same with clipless....

No issues...

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)