Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Looking for a new bike (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/342980-looking-new-bike.html)

sraphe 09-12-07 11:10 AM

Looking for a new bike

I started riding about 15 months ago after a bike trip through southern Italy. I had a 14 year old Trek mountain bike and after the trip I bought a Trek hybrid 7.2FX. I've been riding it about one year and I'm ready to move to a road bike. (I'm 56 years old in pretty good shape and weigh 185 lbs on my way down to 160 from 200.) I've looked at the Fuji Roubaix, Lemond Alpe O'Huez, Specialized Roubaix Comp and the Orbea Onix TDF. I ride about 15 miles every morning and do one 35 mile ride on weekends. I'm planning increase to 50 miles on the weekend so comfort is a factor. I'm looking for input from anyone who is familiar with the bikes I'm looking at or for suggestions for bikes I haven't mentioned. Thanks.

maddmaxx 09-12-07 11:32 AM

Open the flood gates......:eek:

cyclinfool 09-12-07 11:35 AM

My friend just bought a Trek 1000 and he likes it very much.

Tom Bombadil 09-12-07 12:05 PM

Originally Posted by maddmaxx (Post 5257217)

Not from these parts. Those bikes are out of my league.

George 09-12-07 01:31 PM

Originally Posted by maddmaxx (Post 5257217)

:roflmao::roflmao::roflmao::beer:

hoss10 09-12-07 01:38 PM

If you have the means go custom. The best purchase I ever made.

stapfam 09-12-07 02:16 PM

Only way to check these bikes out is to test ride. Of the 4 there is only one I have ridden and that was the Orbea. All that did was make me realise that I had to get a better bike than an OCR and went with a Custom build on a Lightweight frame. Even that was a after a test ride on a built up bike so Test ride before making any decisions.

And that 50 miles at the weekend you will be planning- is too low an estimate for the quality of bike you are looking at.