Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Cervelo P2C/Duraace
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Have you noticed how we've changed?

In just a couple of years 50+ er's in our little forum seem to be coming out of the woodwork, investing in more cycling stuff and enhancing their health. Everyday we read about folks doing more and longer rides, more folks commuting etc. Interesting and encouraging.

Lost in Nostalgia
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, it is very encouraging jppe. Three months ago before I started riding again at 63, I asked myself can I still do those 100+ mile rides or am I fooling myself? Well, I'm up to 45 miles now and in a few more months, hope to do perhaps double that mileage.

knotty

My Bikes
    Litespeed Tuscany , Lemond Poprad, 1970's Motobecane Grand Record
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe it is because I live in Florida but the more I ride, it seems the more people over 50 I see on the roads and trails and most of them seem to be in pretty good health.

Lost in Nostalgia
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since starting riding again, I'm still amazed how many people are riding now. On a good Sunday across the Golden Gate Bridge, it's almost a solid stream of riders going into Marin and back of all ages. When I was racing in the 70's, there was just an occasional rider or two you'd see.

knotty

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure if I've changed or not, but I know where there are a couple of hills that have shrunk

My Bikes
    Specialized Roubaix - Look 566 - Jamis Coda Elite
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have to say, I really questioned myself about buying a bike at 65. I'm sure glad I did now and I hope I could ride until I'm a 100.
    George

My Bikes