User Tag List

My Bikes
    Felt Z35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Help out a newbee

I have been riding for about 3 months. I love it. Never thought it would hit me this hard but I love to ride. Anyway I have 2008 Giant FCR1. That I realy enjoy riding. It is a hybrid more road than mtb. I can ride 25 to 30 miles and average about 12 or 13 mph. I want to ride century next year and wander if I have the right bike to do it. I want a true road bike but dont know where to start. I have a $1000.00 to invest but I want to get it right this time. Help me if you can. I am 54 years old, 6ft and 210 lbs.
    Thanks
    Tom

My Bikes
    Litespeed Tuscany , Lemond Poprad, 1970's Motobecane Grand Record
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Boy are you in the right place for advice. Some of it may even be good. When I thought I might want to switch to a road bike I borrowed a friends for a few rides to see if I would like it. Then I bought a very nice new old stock (NOS) Lemond Tourmalet on ebay for $660.00 including shipping. I would recommend shimano 105 group set and would look from that point. I think most bikes made of the same material and with the same components are near the same in quality and would try out a few and see if you like any particular model. Another thing you may want to try some different frame materials. I found that an all aluminum frame was too stiff for my lower back. You can try aluminum, aluminum with carbon seat stays, steel, steel with carbon seat stays and all carbon. If you ride where others ride, ask a few of them how they like their bikes.
    Last edited by RoMad; 09-30-07 at 03:00 PM.

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)