Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

My doctor is wrong, cycling isn't a low-impact sport

Not when you hit the ground anyway. Luckily, I don't think anyone saw me, so except for the bruises & aches, I'm ok.

I've been resisting buying bike shorts & shirt for a whole list of reasons, 1) I'm a beginner and don't ride that far, 2) I don't really want my current-sized body in spandex, 3) I can't see spending a lot of money on something until I know it's going to be permanent, and 4) I don't even know what to look for.

However, after today, I think I'm going to invest in some clothing if for no other reason than to save me from broken bones. Because it was my long baggy shorts that got caught in the handlebars and sent me flying. And because my shorts were caught, I couldn't use my legs to stop anything and caught the full impact of the fall on my elbow. Apparantly I twisted my back and did something to my right leg too because they hurt right now too.

I don't think I'll be riding tomorrow. Do they make knee and elbow pads for cycling?

This is the worst fall I've had since the kitchen sink got stopped up and I couldn't get enough leverage with the plunger while standing on the floor. I won't go into that one.

His Brain is Gone! Tom Bombadil's Avatar
    My Bikes
    RANS Stratus, Bridgestone CB-1, Trek 7600, Sun EZ-Rider AX, Fuji Absolute 1.0, Cayne Rambler 3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How long and baggy do shorts have to be to get caught in the handlebars?

My handlebars are 2-3" above my saddle, I would have to be some kind of contortionist to get my shorts up there.

Hope you heal quickly from your fall.
    "Too often I would hear men boast of the miles covered that day, rarely of what they had seen." Louis L'Amour

There are two types of road bikers: bikers who are faster than me, and me. Bruce Cameron - Denver Post

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)