Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

storage outside

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

storage outside

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-08, 06:14 PM

Bikes: 2012 Scorpion FX trike, 2016 Catrike 700

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
storage outside

For reasons beyond my control, I must store my bike outside for a few months. The bike will be under a roof, but open to weather. I need to find some type of cover or something of that nature to protect the bike from as much weather as possible. I really do not know how to handle this. Any ideas?
Old 02-22-08, 06:22 PM
el padre

Bikes: Rans Stratus, ICE TRike, other assorted

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First of all I am not an expert,,,that said...if you want the cheep route, since it is a designated period, I would go the large trash bag method...on the other hand that might keep moisture in...If it is under a roof and will not be exposed to the wet of rain, my next thought is cover it with an old sheet or blanket to keep the dirt, dust off and there you go.
so much for that...not high tec.
Old 02-22-08, 07:03 PM
Senior Member ??

Bikes: 2007 Trek Madone 5.0 WSD - 2007 Trek 4300 WSD - 2008 Trek 520 - 2014 Catrike Trail

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When I lived in an apartment I had to keep my bikes on a back porch. I used a tarp to keep them dry. One very similar to this one. I think it cost less than $10.00.

https://www.tarpfactoryoutlet.com/hmp...tarps_main.htm

Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.
-- Antonio Smith

Last edited by Beverly; 03-17-08 at 07:28 AM.
Old 02-22-08, 08:20 PM
Thrifty Bill