User Tag List

My Bikes
    Bianchi road bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Clip-ons vs rx sunglasses

I have been using clip-on sunglasses over my rx glasses for many years, never had a pair of rx sunglasses. But it's getting hard to find the clip-ons I like, so I am thinking about getting rx sunglasses.

But the other day I was out walking in bright sunshine, with my clip-ons, then it got cloudy, so I just took the clip-ons off. If I use the rx sunglasses, I would have had to continue walking with the sunglasses, unless I carried my normal glasses with me. I have thought about the Transitions type of sunglasses, but I wonder if they would get dark enough.

How do others with rx sunglasses deal with this - days going from bright sun to clouds?

Thanks.

Bill

My Bikes
    Leader home built hardtail, Diamondback Response
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Transitions.

If you wear polorized clipons, you may have difficulty reading your computer/spedometer display because that screen is polorized also.

Wine Country, 1 hour north of San Francisco
    My Bikes
    Specialized Ruby
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have transitional lenses in my normal glasses, but they are too small to serve as much protection from the wind and sun when cycling as large sunglasses. I looked into getting large "Audrey Hepburn" prescription sunglasses, but they were lots of $$$ and very heavy to wear. So I bought a pair of big sunglasses from the LBS and wear contact lenses on most rides.
    Embrace diversity: hug a conservative.

AAX
    My Bikes
    Winterbeater;moutain tourbike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wear bifocal "photogray" glasses.For me they work fine.Even now with heavy snow and bright sunshine
    they get dark enough to be comfortable.
    However when you go back inside they take a minute to lighten up.I just look over the top or take them