Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Looks like I need a new mtb

I broke my 10 year old mtb today. Luckily, I had stopped to add a layer and heard the crunching as I started riding again. I had just finished a climb and was starting a fast descent. A short walk home followed the discovery.

My Bikes
    Randonee
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    An interesting catastrophic break totally along the weld. Never know, they might warranty it even after ten years. The weld was obviously stronger than the adjoining material and had probably weakened that area in the beginning. Doesn't look like JB Weld is going to help you much with this one.

It never hurts to ask the manufacturer and when you do tell them you are trying to figure out what you are going to get next and see what they suggest in their line. They might just help you out with an offer you can't refuse.
    F Thomas

"Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving."
    Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

My Bikes
    Leader home built hardtail, Diamondback Response
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I'd be tempted to send these pictures to the manufacturer also. Most don't like to see this sort of failure.

My Bikes
    2014 Specialized Crave Pro 29, 2014 Specialized Crux EVO Carbon Disc, 2012 Black Mountain Cycles Monster Cross, 2011 Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert Compact, 2009 Salsa Casseroll, 2003 KHS Milano Tandem, 1986 Nishiki Cadence rigid MTB
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it's broken.
    The more you ride your bike, the less your ass will hurt.

el padre
    My Bikes
    Linear,
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why did you walk it home...a nice slow pace would get you there : )
    Glad you did not start that fast downhill...

My Bikes
    2007 Trek Madone 5.0 WSD - 2007 Trek 4300 WSD - 2008 Trek 520